Creamy Chicken Noodle Soup*

*I have made this recipe SO many times I usually don’t use the recipe  – this is one of our favs.

2 cans of condensed cream soup
       we used cream of mushroom w/roasted garlic and cream of chicken w/ herbs
2 cups chopped chicken (1)
9-10oz frozen mixed veggies
¼ tsp pepper
1 ½ c dried egg noodles
5 cups water(2)

1. open and scoop creamed soups into 4qt crock pot
2. add in 5 cups of broth or water or a mixture like I did
3. whisk soup and liquid
4. add froz. veggies (we usually use a 12-16oz bag of mixed veggies) [tip – stir while adding so they don’t clump together]
5. add chicken
6. top with pepper and crock pot lid
7. let cook for approx 6 hours on LOW (recipe says you can do 3hours on high if you want) the last 30 mins turn your crock pot on high and add your noodles (we never measure we just add some noodles to our liking – sometimes more so it is more creamy and sometimes less if we desire more liquid)
8. serve

1 – I made homemade crock pot chicken for this recipe and this is what I did: took a ~4lb chicken and laid it on top of cut up leeks in a 6qt crock pot, then I took ¼ c of vegetable broth and poured it on top of the chicken, then I sprinkled white pepper and poultry seasoning on top and then added more leeks on top (I used 2 large leeks for this)
2 – the recipe calls for 5 cups water, but I use low sodium vegetable broth for 4 cups and then 1 cup water

 

*adapted from BHG: Biggest Book of Slow Cooker Recipes – page 297

Leave a comment