Eggs in a Nest – adapted from Babara Kingsolver: Animal Vegetable Miracle

So this evening was split down the middle.  I only made 5 eggs in a nest, and also I used spinach, not swiss chard – and instead of onions I used leeks.  I am not a big fan of brown rice, so for me that is where I found it hard to enjoy the taste… I did add a bit of soy and that helped a bit.  I also immediately began thinking what I can do to improve the dish later to add some more flavor to the rice itself.  S, our oldest, liked the dish.  He added soy sauce as well, but really enjoyed how the eggs were cooked.  He enjoys eggs that “run” and the poached egg fit his fancy.  The good ‘ole hubby J did not like the poached eggs.  He normally eats his eggs one of three ways: fried, scrambled or in an omelet.  So this poaching business was new to him and he would rather not revisit it again.  This is a light meal, depending on how heavy tasting you make your rice… AND it was super easy to do.  Check out the recipe here: http://www.animalvegetablemiracle.com/recipes-spring-eggs-in-a-nest.htm 

Barbara Kingsolver wrote a good book, and if you have time/effort to read it, give it a go.  I love the book.  My aunt is currently borrowing my copy, but if I had it here again I would turn to it for a gardening resource, cookbook and a good read/laugh! 

Hope you enjoy your eggs in a nest!

Leave a Reply

