Potatoe & Leek Tart

disclaimer – I did NOT cook this one according to the recipe, I winged it and it had GREAT flavor… but it was gooey.  If you don’t mind a gooey dinner do what I did… otherwise follow the recipe.

 

ingredients:

pie crust

3 tbsp butter

3 large leeks, thinly sliced

3 tablespoons heavy cream

¼ tsp ground nutmeg

¼ tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1 large potato, peeled and thinly sliced

 

directions:

  1. sauté leeks until soft, ~10mins (I think this is too long, but the recipe says 10mins) – reserve 1 cup of leeks
  2. add cream, nutmeg and pepper to skillet with remaining leeks – stir occasionally until thickened ~2mins
  3. place cream mixture in pie filling, top with potato slices and 1 cup of reserved leeks
  4. bake ~10-15mins @400

 

What I did differently:

  • I cooked our leeks for ½ the time they did
  • I also blended our potatoes, unpeeled and with some carrots (I was trying to use up what we had in the fridge and it seemed like a good idea)
  • I added the cream to the potato/carrot puree (I also over pureed it, it would have been better just coarsely chopped
  • I added feta cheese, we love cheese and again had some left over
  • I didn’t save any leeks to put on top, they all went on the bottom spread out

 

Great American Home Baking – Main Dish – card 25

Leave a Reply

